Yoga for Surfers … Yoga for Singers?

You know about Yoga and Surfing …. but Yoga and Singing?
Please read on to find out more!

You see, nearly every day I get an amazing email (or two or three!) from wonderful folks whose lives have changed by doing Yoga for Surfers!

I am truly touched and deeply moved by the heartfelt messages I get! Here is one particularly surprising email I got recently:

“I recently bought YFS II after having YFS I for a while. The routine is great; challenging and rewarding. What I really wanted to mention was the effect of the breathing exercises to increase lung capacity. I got this DVD to help my surfing and general wellness and feeling of my body; but I have noticed significant improvement in another unexpected area. I am also a singer and local performer in San Diego and my vocal ability is benefiting greatly from these exercises.

I have only done the breathing exercises about 3 or 4 times now, but I have noticed a substantial difference in my breathing ability. I perform for 3-4 hours at a time at local farmer’s markets and have already noticed that I can hold notes longer and with more projection and power, and with much less effort. Rather than squeeking out the ends of long vocal phrases I am ending them with strength and it feels great. I plan to continue these exercises and can’t wait to see how far I can push my singing.

Singing has a similar effect to yoga, in that controlled breathing is required, resulting in the same good feeling of oxygenation throughout the cells; singing also adds to that the varied tuning of different notes vibrating from the vocal tract and through the entire body. My slightly increased lung capacity is already resulting in a significantly more enjoyable singing experience, and I’m stoked to see what happens after more weeks and months of Breath of Fire and my other new exercises.

I thought you might enjoy hearing about this unexpected benefit of your DVD. Thank you for putting out this line of videos; I hope good luck, good waves and continued success find you.”

Thanks,
Eric Polyn

Wow! You can imagine how grateful I am to hear this! I always knew that yoga makes every area of your life better — but it’s so nice to have others confirming that as well!

Now, if you’d like to check out Eric’s music for yourself and see how he’s put his yoga breathing into practice, just go here: http://www.myspace.com/ejpmusic

And, if you haven’t experienced the breathing exercises he’s talking about, you can get them here on Yoga for Surfers II: Fluid Power

Leave a comment

Filed under surfing, yoga

Leave a Reply

